3 Comments
Apr 13, 2022Liked by Minter Dial

This is a great topic. You raise a very good point. Something I really never took the time to think about other than when the word addiction is raised, my assumptions are directed to a negative/sadness, usually. Personally I think it’s ok to have addiction/passions but important to find a balance so it’s not all consuming. It could be very healthy, especially when it promotes physical and mental health! Regarding religious views, I’ve encountered some that are sometimes, in my opinion addicted to the point it may turn others away or raise eyebrows. I was raised Catholic and it was not until my 2nd half life that I wanted to have a better understanding and learn more about theology and philosophy (the Ancient Greeks), especially after hearing this quote, “Reason converses on Christianity and Christianity completes reason.” To me it’s all so interesting and when time allows, I enjoy researching and reading. Lol maybe that is classified as an addiction but I find lots of great reminders that continue to help me grow with humility and patience throughout life. How we treat one another is so important!

It would be nice to rehabilitate that emphasize, how we treat one another, and more than likely will help our future world! ☺️

Expand full comment
author

Many thanks for your comment Denise. Glad my post raised an eyebrow! :) The entire topic of religion will certainly be relevant in looking at how we entertain conversations going forward. Let's hear for passionate addictions... that stimulate and vivify us! As for rehabilitating meaningful conversation, I'm doing my utmost to do so! Keep 'em coming!

Expand full comment
author

I am aware that this is a sensitive topic. I'm putting it on the table purposefully, in the hopes that we can take an honest look at how we view words and concepts that may otherwise trigger us. I am personally aware of the dangers of addiction (myself and around me). Addiction can be absolutely devastating. But I want to allow us to discuss the concept in a different context. Looking beyond the pain associated with life-changing addictions, but under a wider definition, to review how this word "addiction" can have other meanings. Am I wrong?

Expand full comment