16 Comments
Mar 7, 2022Liked by Minter Dial

Hi Minter. In conversation when a genuinely new idea (that is really intriguing) pops up. Last week facilitating relationally between three leaders a conversation happened that was a perfect polarity resolution. Quite emotional. Amazing to witness. Also when deeply tuned in.

Expand full comment
author

I love the unexpected, surprise element. If you prescribe or predict (control) too much, it's unlikely to 'appear'.

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2022Liked by Minter Dial

A bit like laughter?

Expand full comment
author

I would note that there is the practice of laughter therapy... where you basically force yourself to laugh. And it then turns into the genuine article... Ever tried it, @Nick?

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2022Liked by Minter Dial

Yes we have used it in facilitation as one of our bodymind state change practices in embodied leadership programmes and in relational facilitations. I don’t know how it works neurologically, but there is a moment when my forced laughter seems funny or stupid and it flips into the real thing. Making me smile to think of it now :-).

Expand full comment
author

The beauty of the brain.

Expand full comment

Occasionally.

Expand full comment
Mar 4, 2022Liked by Minter Dial

Unexpected and a constant with some few friends, it seems that their intelligence is an aphrodisiac

Expand full comment
author

Indeed... gets the endorphins and oxytocin kicking in...

Expand full comment
author

When I pondered this question, my immediate thought went to when I see two people, whom I have introduced to one another, bonding. This can happen at a dinner party, a pub or bar (of course) or when I conduct an Empathy Circle.

Expand full comment

I never experienced that feeling just talking…except when out of the blue you suddenly connect to someone in the middle of an ordinary verbal exchange.

It can occur when someone makes me laugh, watching my kids or granddaughter sleep, a beautiful landscape, a thorough massage…

This tingling feeling is a brief moment of happiness 🤗

Expand full comment
author

Those all sound like good options! I'm told ASMR generates the feeling too!

Expand full comment

Becoming rather trendy. Haven’t tried. Will do tonight in order to have a qualified opinion 😄

Expand full comment
author

A lot of choices. One of my favourites is unintentional ASMR: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6J20_Aem3Y

Expand full comment