4 Comments
founding
Apr 21, 2023Liked by Minter Dial

I think it is important to have a backstory, but not essential. My father had a painting of a lawyer with a client, painted by an ancestor many years ago, and it had that history, as well as wonderful stories that my father had imagined to explain parts of the work. It made it absolutely magical. But I believe strongly also that art that pleases you does not need a backstory. Just like looking at waves or trees are immensely satisfying to me. I am a sketcher/doodler so I embrace it all! Best to you Minter and the readers!

Expand full comment
author

Thanks Charlie. Being able to smell the roses doesn't require green fingers or knowledge about the roses. Although the image of the roses in Marrakesh adds to the flavour!

Expand full comment

Bringing peace and joy when it comes to paintings on my walls, for instance although I am a fan of Egon Schiele, some of his works are not somber and troubling. https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/483438

Expand full comment
author

His was a passionate and short life.... Live life to the full?

Expand full comment