13 Comments
author

Another profession crossed my mind: the negotiator. I've had the pleasure to interview two world famous negotiators (Chris Voss and Laurent Combalbert) and they both talked about using empathy and deep listening skills to understand better the person on the other side of the table or talking down someone from a ledge.

Expand full comment
Jan 31, 2022Liked by Minter Dial

Love the Jim Collins argument. I think excellent listening is too often overlooked and is strong in all your initial professions listed - with a similar caveat for Journalists (if they write what they hear - but I would think most listen well).

We tend to think of good conversationalists doing most of the talking (often the storytellers) but really the best ones get the other person talking, using open questions, building rapport and I agree, very importantly.....trust.

I would add GOOD professional Interviewers (Parkinson, Bragg, Norton etc), strong in these traits, to the list.

Expand full comment

And of course, Coaches/ Mentors inspire clients to learn to ask their own questions by probing deeply into the fundamental elements of their belief systems. Coaches teach clients that the best answers ARE the questions.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2022Liked by Minter Dial

It's funny but I think sales people if they really do their job correctly can be good conversationalists. LOL I should know I am a sales person...now I will admit I have never had someone say my goodness you are a great conversationalist...but I believe if a sales person listens, cares and empathizes the conversation can be amazing.

Expand full comment
Feb 10, 2022Liked by Minter Dial

some taxi/Uber drivers are in my experience fun storytellers to listen to. It is either their life that is worth listening or their position: they meet people they’re not supposed to see again, sometimes at night, and you barely see their faces.

Expand full comment
Jan 31, 2022Liked by Minter Dial

Trustworthiness seems essential at any level whatever the profession. If missing all conversation is built on sand…and becomes controversy.

Expand full comment
Jan 30, 2022Liked by Minter Dial

True friends foster the best conversation and dare to question you in the most fragile part of your ego, but there are very few true friends

Expand full comment